December 1, 2012

Dear Guild Members,

Time to hit the pause button and express thanks.

 As we all go about writing, editing, lining up publishing, and launching marketing campaigns, it is all too easy to focus on the what of the Guild rather than who. 

 Our Guild is in many ways akin to a cruise ship, where a great deal of effort behind the scenes enables those on board to enjoy and benefit from the cruise while in route to their destination.  Your Guild crew consists of nine elected board members and twenty able-bodied volunteers who manage twenty-five distinct programs to help you create, publish and market your writing.

 While unable to recognize all who provide value to your Guild cruise, I will mention a few:

·         Board member and Programs VP Sunny Simon has created the Guild’s best-ever slate of monthly speakers and workshops for the 2012-2013 season.

·         Board member and Membership VP Diana Miller shows deft and resourcefulness handling all things related to membership.   She also does a magical job keeping the Guild’s exceptional website relevant and informative.

·         Critique Groups chair Dodie Cross is responsible for a talented team of group leaders, and stands ready to assist any member create a new critique group.

·         Our sterling Day of New Works and short story contest is headed by board member and Treasurer Marge Dodge working with members Michael Craft and Kathy Bjork.

·         Other programs deftly handled by our volunteers: the Poetry Contest (Dessa Reed), our  excellent Desert Writers EXPO (John Carrigan), the popular Writers Corner discussion groups (Bob Hurlbert), social media programs (Lynne Spreene and Denise Welch), and the Guild’s scholarship programs (Carol Teitelbaum).

 Of course we cannot conclude this ship’s log without giving a hearty three cheers of gratitude to your cruise photographer and social time culinary director, Cheryl McFadden.  Please express your appreciation to her and all those dedicated volunteers for all they do.

 Finally, thanks to you, our members, for your support, your vitality, and your active participation, all of which make the Palm Springs Writers Guild an exceptional place in which to be a writer.

 May your Holidays be filled with joy and your writing dreams blossom in the New Year.    

Jim McFarlin

James D. McFarlin, PSWG President

© 2011 Palm Springs Writers Guild                   Website Maintenance by Sheila Hoyer                    Website Design by

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software